Employment Committee

The Employment Committee is responsible for overseeing implementation of the Human Resource Investment Council's Promoting Work Grant and the provision of training and technical assistance regarding the employment provisions of the ADA.

Hearing Board

The Hearing Board is responsible for conducting hearings and rendering decisions on matters relating to:

  • RIGL 42-87: Hearing and ordering corrective action on disability discrimination complaints (involving physical barriers to services or employment) in public and private entities
  • RIGL 37-8-15.1: Approving Transition Plans from state agencies requesting to lease inaccessible facilities
  • RIGL 42-46-13: Approving Open Meeting Transition Plans from local and state government entities

Legislation Committee

The Legislation Committee is responsible for conducting public forums annually to identify the concerns of people with disabilities and their families; drafting legislation to improve the quality of life of people with disabilities; and reviewing and commenting on legislation impacting on people with disabilities.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for the internal management of the Commission and making policy decisions between Commission meetings. The Executive Committee consists of the Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission and its Committees.

State Coordinating Committee on Disability Rights

The State Coordinating Committee on Disability Rights is responsible for overseeing the state government's compliance with the ADA and other federal and state disability rights laws. By law, the Committee's memberships consists of representatives of: the five (5) General Officers; the three (3) Boards of Education; the Public Transit Authority; the House of Representatives and the Senate; and representatives of the general public and Executive Branch of state government, chosen by the Commission chairperson.

Disability Business Enterprise Committee

The Disability Business Enterprise Committee is responsible for certifying rehabilitation agencies and businesses owned by people with disabilities for preferences on bidding for state contracts. The Committee's membership is restricted by law to: three (3) people with disabilities; and the designees of the directors of the departments of Behavioral Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Hospitals (BHDDH), the Purchasing Agent and the Economic Development Corporation. The Commission Chairperson (or designee) is the Committee's chairperson.